Ladbrokes Australia crowned Operator of the Year at EGR Australia Awards 2018

Brisbane-headquartered firm pips Lottoland and William Hill to the ceremony’s major award and also takes home gong for best horseracing operator

Ladbrokes Australia was crowned Operator of the Year for the second year in a row at the EGR Australia Awards 2018 held in Sydney today.

The operator saw off stiff competition from fellow nominees William Hill and Lottoland to win the coveted prize at the ceremony, which was held at the Four Seasons Hotel.

Ladbrokes earned plaudits from the judging panel for its annual performance despite a change in CEO last year, with Jason Scott appointed as Dean Shannon’s permanent successor in August.

One judge commented: “It was another impressive year for Ladbrokes Australia who continue to be relevant, entertaining and at the forefront of the digital space, regardless of what happens in their UK business.”

EGR Australia Awards 2018

The EGR Australia Awards were held today at the Four Seasons Hotel in Sydney

Another judge added: “It is so hard to deny their numbers – quite a staggering level of growth was achieved and they are now firmly entrenched as a major player in the Australian market.”

Ladbrokes Australia was also crowned Horseracing Operator of the Year, while William Hill took home the trophies for Customer Services Operator and Mobile Sports Product.

Shannon’s new venture, neds, won the Rising Star award, while Paddy Power Betfair’s Sportsbet business took down Innovation of the Year and Socially Responsible Operator.

For more information on the awards and the judging process, click here.

The full list of winners can be found below:



Affiliate of the Year
Catena Media (Bettingpro)
Customer Services Operator
William Hill
Horseracing Operator
Ladbrokes Australia
Innovation of the Year
Marketing Campaign
Mobile Sports Product
William Hill
Rising Star
Socially Responsible Operator
Sports Betting Supplier
Operator of the Year
Ladbrokes Australia
#EGRAwards | Australia | EGR | Lottoland | Neds | Paddy Power Betfair | William Hill